ChatGPT Plus costs £20 per month on the web in the UK, including VAT, according to OpenAI’s UK web pricing checked on 6 October 2026.
Quick answer · ChatGPT Plus in the UK
£20 per month
Includes 20% VAT · checked 6 October 2026
- Country / currency
- United Kingdom · GBP (£)
- Billing route
- ChatGPT website · monthly
- Tax treatment
- VAT included in £20
Use this price for a new UK web subscription. Existing subscriptions keep their billing currency; Apple and Google Play purchases follow their own billing routes.
Source: OpenAI’s UK web pricing · checked 6 October 2026. Review any account-specific offer and renewal terms before paying.
The £20 monthly price already includes 20% VAT, so you do not add another 20% to it. It is the public UK web price; an existing subscription billed in dollars or an app-store purchase follows a different billing route.
For iOS, Apple’s UK listing for OpenAI’s ChatGPT app showed two in-app purchases named “ChatGPT Plus” at £19.99 and £200.00 on September 30, 2026. The public list did not state their billing periods or tax treatment.
The multi-currency policy confirms GBP support for the UK and explains why an active web subscription keeps its existing currency. A dollar price in general Plus guidance or an older bill does not replace the UK web price above.
If your budget needs to cover research, writing and visual work across several AI models, GlobalGPT brings those tasks into one subscription and workspace. Start with the tools you use each week, then compare the billing terms for the route you choose.

What does ChatGPT Plus include?
Plus is useful when you need more room for work than Free provides. OpenAI’s plan comparison and Plus guidance describe broader model access and expanded tools. The practical benefits fall into a few groups:
- Reasoning and everyday work: broader model options and advanced reasoning for planning, coding and multi-step analysis.
- Working with material: expanded messages and uploads, file analysis, deep research, and more memory and context.
- Creating and organising: image generation, voice conversations, projects, scheduled tasks and custom GPTs.
- Longer work sessions: expanded Codex usage and ChatGPT Work access across desktop, web and mobile.
Access and limits vary by tool. Plus can still have message caps, and availability can change during a rollout. A longer feature list is useful only if the extra access removes a limit you actually encounter; it is not a promise that every tool is unlimited.
OpenAI API usage is billed separately. Paying for Plus does not turn the subscription into an API credit balance.
ChatGPT Plus UK billing: choose your subscription route
OpenAI supports GBP (£) for the United Kingdom on standard paid web subscriptions. Its multi-currency billing policy separates purchases on chatgpt.com from subscriptions bought through the iOS or Android app. An active web subscription keeps its existing billing currency.
Start with where you subscribed
New subscription on the web
Buying at chatgpt.com
↓
GBP (£) is supported for the United Kingdom.
Next: read the Plus price, billing period and total in your checkout before confirming.
Existing web subscription
Your subscription is still active
↓
Billing continues in its current currency.
To change currency: cancel → wait for the billing period to end → re-subscribe in the supported currency.
Subscription through an app
Bought in the iOS or Android app
↓
Apple App Store or Google Play manages the subscription; charges appear in local currency.
Next: read the amount and renewal details in the store that bills you.
GBP support tells you which currency is available. It does not supply a specific Plus price in pounds or make an active subscription switch currency automatically.
Source: OpenAI, Multi-currency billing · checked 28 September 2026 · standard paid web plans; Enterprise and Education are outside this policy’s scope. App-store billing is a separate route.
If your web subscription is already billed in dollars, GBP support does not automatically convert the next renewal to pounds. Change currency only if you want to cancel and re-subscribe after the current period ends; the policy does not require existing subscribers to make that change.
For a new UK web subscription, OpenAI’s UK web pricing lists £20 per month including VAT, checked 6 October 2026. OpenAI’s Plus help page, checked on 1 October 2026, stated monthly billing with no annual billing or multi-month prepayment. That dated policy does not identify an app-store offer’s billing period; check the terms of any offer shown to your account.
What the UK Apple listing shows
Apple’s UK listing for OpenAI’s ChatGPT app showed two in-app purchases named “ChatGPT Plus” at £19.99 and £200.00 on September 30, 2026. These are public iOS listing amounts, not a confirmed web checkout price.
Public UK iOS listing · checked September 30, 2026
| App Store label | Displayed amount | Channel | Period / tax / total |
|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT Plus | £19.99 | Apple UK in-app purchase | Not stated in the public listing |
| ChatGPT Plus | £200.00 | Apple UK in-app purchase | Not stated in the public listing |
The two same-name rows have no public SKU, billing-period, tax, final-total, renewal or account-eligibility field. Source: Apple UK ChatGPT listing, checked September 30, 2026.
Neither amount identifies a monthly or annual offer in this public list. The two same-name entries also provide no product identifier to distinguish the offers. For an iOS purchase, the applicable offer’s period, renewal conditions and total are the details to compare; the list alone does not supply them.
Which payment methods can UK web subscribers use?
For ChatGPT web subscriptions, OpenAI lists:
- Credit and debit cards across supported countries.
- Bank debit via Link for the UK and EEA, where supported.
These web payment options come from the same billing policy. If you subscribed inside the app, use the Apple App Store or Google Play billing route. For the steps for each purchase route, see the ChatGPT Plus payment guide. A listed payment method does not guarantee that an individual payment will be approved.
Why an older UK checkout displayed US$24
An archived checkout image used in an earlier version of this page has the United Kingdom selected and displays a US$20 subscription, US$4 VAT and US$24 due. It is a payment form, not a receipt showing that a purchase was completed. The image does not establish its capture date or today’s UK Plus price.
The displayed tax belongs to that particular checkout example. It does not establish whether tax is included in a new pound-denominated price or added to it. Read the currency, billing period and total together; converting this older dollar amount into pounds will not give you a confirmed UK subscription quote.
Is ChatGPT Plus worth paying for in the UK?
Pay for the bottleneck you can name. If you regularly stop a document analysis because you have reached an upload or usage limit, expanded access has a clear purpose. If you only ask a few short questions, try the same tasks on Free before adding another subscription.
- Consider Plus when you use ChatGPT several days a week and need its reasoning, files, research or project tools in the same product.
- Keep using Free when occasional drafting, explanations and short questions already fit comfortably within the access available to you.
- Compare a multi-model workspace when your work moves between model families, writing and creative tools, and managing several separate subscriptions feels cumbersome.
For one week, note which tasks you repeat and where you lose time: waiting for access, splitting files, moving drafts or switching products. Compare the subscription total with those recurring interruptions. There is no universal saving or productivity figure that makes the decision for everyone.
Choose tools around the work you need to finish
For a report based on files, ChatGPT Plus brings analysis, reasoning and projects into the ChatGPT workflow. For a workflow that moves from research to drafting and then to images or video, GlobalGPT offers multiple model families and creative tools in one dashboard.
- A recurring document workflow: compare upload access, analysis tools and the space available for your material.
- Coding work: decide whether you want ChatGPT’s Codex workflow or model-based coding help within your existing workspace.
- Content production: look at how you move from research and text to visual assets, and whether one dashboard covers those steps.
You can start with GlobalGPT workspace for research, writing and coding, then move to the workspace’s creative tools as the task changes.

Compare subscriptions using the same billing period and the tasks you need. A model name or a workspace card does not establish the price, usage allowance or performance of a subscription.
When a multi-model workspace fits your budget
If you mainly want ChatGPT’s own tools, start by deciding whether Plus fits your work. If your work spans research, drafting and creating visuals, GlobalGPT brings multiple AI models and creative tools into one account, so you can move between those tasks in one workspace.

The card groups task tags and rating controls around a model entry. Its stars are interface ratings, not a controlled performance comparison, and the earlier card does not describe current subscription prices.
ChatGPT Plus UK billing FAQ
How much is ChatGPT Plus per month in pounds?
ChatGPT Plus costs £20 per month on the web in the UK, including VAT, according to OpenAI’s UK web pricing checked on 6 October 2026. This public UK web price does not automatically replace an existing subscription billed in another currency or establish an app-store purchase price.
Does the UK ChatGPT Plus price include VAT?
Yes. The £20 monthly UK web price includes 20% VAT, according to OpenAI’s UK web pricing checked on 6 October 2026. You do not add VAT again to that price. This tax treatment does not establish the tax breakdown of the Apple UK listing or an older dollar-denominated bill.
Can I pay for ChatGPT Plus in pounds?
Yes. OpenAI lists GBP for the United Kingdom on standard paid web subscriptions. An active web subscription continues in its existing currency; GBP support does not automatically change that subscription.
Why is my ChatGPT subscription still billed in dollars?
OpenAI says existing web subscriptions retain their current currency. To switch to a supported currency, cancel the subscription, wait for the current billing period to end, and then subscribe again. You do not have to switch simply because GBP is supported.
Does ChatGPT Plus have an annual plan?
OpenAI’s Plus help page checked on 1 October 2026 stated monthly billing with no annual billing or multi-month prepayment. This dated policy does not identify the terms of an account-specific offer. The £200.00 Apple UK entry checked on September 30, 2026 did not name a billing period and cannot establish an annual plan. Check the period and renewal terms of any offer shown to your account.
Are web and app subscriptions billed in the same place?
No. Web purchases are billed through ChatGPT, while subscriptions bought in the iOS or Android app are managed by the Apple App Store or Google Play. Read the amount, billing period and renewal details on the route where you subscribe.
Does the old US$24 checkout prove the current UK price?
No. The archived UK-selected form displays US$20 plus US$4 VAT, with US$24 due. Its capture date is unknown, and it is not a completed-payment receipt. It does not establish the current GBP price or the tax treatment of a new UK purchase.
Can UK users pay by card or bank debit?
OpenAI lists credit and debit cards for web subscriptions and bank debit via Link for the UK and EEA where supported. A listed method does not guarantee that an individual transaction will be approved. App purchases use the relevant store’s billing route.
What do the £19.99 and £200.00 Apple UK entries mean?
Apple’s UK listing showed two in-app purchases named “ChatGPT Plus” at £19.99 and £200.00 on September 30, 2026. The public page did not state the billing period, tax treatment, final total, renewal terms or product identifier for either row. Neither amount establishes a monthly or annual offer, or a web subscription price.
Does ChatGPT Plus include API usage?
No. The ChatGPT Plus subscription and OpenAI API usage have separate billing. API charges are not included in the Plus subscription fee.
Sources: OpenAI’s UK web pricing, checked 6 October 2026; What is ChatGPT Plus?, checked 1 October 2026; OpenAI multi-currency billing, captured 28 September 2026; and Apple UK ChatGPT listing, checked September 30, 2026.
Before you subscribe
Budget £20 per month including VAT for a new UK ChatGPT Plus web subscription, checked on 6 October 2026. Before paying, review the offer and renewal terms shown to your account. Keep this web price separate from an existing subscription in another currency and from app-store offers.
Choose Plus when ChatGPT’s own tools fit your regular work. If the job spans multiple models and creative tasks, explore GlobalGPT’s workspace and compare the workflow before adding another subscription.



